Sunday, October 7, 2012

Open letter to Member of Parliament

Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from PVCHR
I want to bring in your kind attention towards regarding appointment of women member in National Human Rights Commission (NHRC), New Delhi after the retirement of Shri P.C Sharma, former member NHRC. In the past, the NHRC had women members, namely, Justice Fathima Beevi (1993) and Justice Sujata Manohar (1999). At present, however, no woman sits as member of the NHRC.

Therefore it is a kind request to appoint women member from the disadvantage group or minority for achieving plurality and diversity among the commission. The process of appointment must be totally transparent and not restricted to only retired Judges or Chief Justices of the Supreme Court or to former bureaucrats – IAS, IPS, IFA, or IRS, etc., but must be expanded to include the great wealth of India’s moral, intelligent, and dedicated leaders. 
Thanking You 
Sincerely Yours
Lenin Raghuvanshi
Secretary General
Peoples' Vigilance Committee on Human Rights

Gwangju Human Rights Award – 2007
Association of Cultural Harmony in Asia (ACHA) Star Peace Award – 2008
Director of ACHA - Since 2009
International Human Rights Award of Weimar (Germany) - 2010
Sa 4/2 A Daulatpur, Varanasi - 221002
Mobile No: +91-9935599333